Luck of the Draw Scholarships


One $5,000 and 14 $1,000 scholarships were awarded in 2019! Scholarship winners were drawn at random from all eligible applicants at Lincoln Electric's Annual Meeting on Saturday, March 30, 2019. This is a unique approach as it gives all eligible applicants an equal chance of winning. Luck of the Draw scholarships are available for students of all ages provided they are used toward the student's first undergraduate degree or certificate. They can be used for a wide variety of educational opportunities at accredited two-year, four-year, trade, or vocational institutions.

LEC has awarded $97,000 in Luck of the Draw scholarships to our members and/or their dependents since 2010. The Luck of the Draw scholarship program is not funded directly through electric rates, nor will it affect rates. LEC's scholarship funds come from unclaimed capital credit money that has been placed in an account and is earning interest. Every effort is made to notify members of unclaimed capital credits before placing the money in the account.

This scholarship program must be approved by LEC's Board of Trustees each year. Please check back here in 2020 for status updates.